Being who I want to be, living how I want to live in this crazy town called Hollywood.

CONTROL

I’ve been thinking about control alot today. Most days I perceive myself to be in complete control of everything in my life. The truth is nothing could be further from the truth. There is so much I want for my life. Things I want to do, places I want to be, but I am finding that getting there is so not in my control. I can hope. I can even prepare but..the actual events that will get me there, I cant make happen.
So what does a guy do? Do I keep on hoping and preparing? Or do I act as if the dreams don’t exist and march mindlessly through life as a shell of who I could be? There is so much tension in answering those questions. I do not want to be swept up in extreme idealism but how do I recognize what is realistic for me?

I don’t have the answers…if anybody has some USEFUL insight feel free to help.

4 responses

  1. Deb Entsminger

    Love how this post is right under the picture of you playing Joseph! Talk about someone who was not in control of his circumstances! But The One who is in control so completely and totally got Joseph right where he needed to be to accomplish those good works He prepared in advance for him to do.

    Thankfully you know The One who is in control. Keep listening to Him, following Him and you can rest in Him that He will get you right where you need to be – oh there may be times of waiting, and times when things seem totally impossible, even going from bad to worse – Joseph had those too. But through it all The One in Control really was in control and at work doing mighty things!

    While Joseph didn’t have control over his circumstances he did have the opportunity to exercise self-control – and that decision to not compromise had a huge impact on the outcome.

    Praying for you friend! Especially that you get to experience all the best He has for you!

    December 16, 2010 at 7:35 am

    • mykellb

      THANK you so much for this Deb! I really really really needed to hear this right now! During my preparation of playing Joseph I spent alot of time studying his life in scriptures and God taught me alot about HIS good and waiting on HIM is a joyous good in itself. I guess I just forgot for a second. You are such an encouragement Deb. Thanks!!

      December 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

  2. T-rav

    Deb took the words right out of my mouth! Circumstances change, but our God doesn’t. When we rest upon His providence and Fatherly care, nothing we go through is ever by accident and is always for our good, for the good of the Church, and His glory.

    December 17, 2010 at 7:18 am

  3. i like it

    January 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

