Being who I want to be, living how I want to live in this crazy town called Hollywood.

Rain Therapy

So it has been raining relentlessly for the past couple of days and I love just being outside in the rain but hadn’t been able to until today!  There is just something about being consumed by a downpour that makes me feel…alive.  I went out with my ipod and just let go! it was so freeing.  I realized something in this time.  I am THAT free all the time!  Free to just be me no matter who is watching. Free to express myself no matter whose eyes may see.  As I sang “My Life” from my demo at the top of my lungs as the rain poured a line became so vivid to me :”…your  inhibitions won’t determine my life’s song.”  I love that line because, in the context of the song, it means I can’t contort myself to be what you believe I should be or live how you think I am suppose to. It is crucial that I live my life true to who I am…and who I am becoming. Its sad because most people will never really know who they are because they spend their whole lives trying to perpetuate an image of themselves that they adopted from the world around them. There is nothing more unfulfilling than a life agendas, opinions, and make-believe chains.  The beauty is that I am absolutely free to be exactly who I am.

So I encourage you, the next time it is raining don’t run away from it like we are conditioned to do, but experience it and just let yourself go.  Be you!!

2 responses

  1. Jordan Hargrave

    What about Christ? You say “It is crucial that I live my life true to who I am.” You are telling us to live our lives true to ourselves. Where does that leave room to be conformed to the image of Christ?
    It sounds a lot like what a lost person would say, Michael. They live their lives “true to themselves.”
    I can see where you are coming from but just be careful in what you say. We are to be like Christ and to be conformed to Him and His word and if that does not characterize our lives… Then what does? Ourselves?
    Correct me if I’m wrong in saying what I did. I say it in love. Miss you, brother! Hope you are doing well.
    -Jordan H.

    September 29, 2010 at 8:48 am

    • mykellb

      I think we can be conformed to Christ and still be who we are…God created us uniquely which is why we are specific individuals with different perspectives and different personalities. I wholeheartedly believe it is crucial that I live my life true to me even in my pursuit of Christ. I cant be you or anyone else as I am becoming more like CHrist but I can be who God made me. And for people who arent Christians i think they still have things that define who they are and if they contort themselves to be like what others tell them they should be it is a sad miserable, and stunted life. Technically that would go for anybody. Anyway hope you are doing well. Subscribe to the blog, if you dare.

      October 2, 2010 at 5:03 pm

Leave a Reply

